STUDIO BERLIN — at Berghain Berlin

Studio Berlin
Am Wriezener Bahnhof, 10243 Berlin
September 9, 2020 —
Feature Image: STUDIO BERLIN/Berghain, © Rirkrit Tiravanija, courtesy neugerriemschneider Berlin, Foto: Noshe

In the exhibition ›Studio Berlin‹, the Boros Foundation in Berghain shows works by over 100 contemporary artists who live and work in Berlin. On display are national and international positions from the fields of photography, sculpture, painting, video, sound, performance and installation. The exhibition, organized by the Boros Foundation, takes place in the Berghain, including the Panorama Bar, Column and the adjacent hall. The studio as a production site is the focus of the exhibition and forms its starting point. Artists’ studios are places of debate, reflection, translation, analysis and conceptual thinking.

›Studio Berlin‹ is to be understood as a snapshot, as an examination of the current situation of the artists and their reflections on current socio-political changes. Berlin has the highest density of studios and art workshops in Europe—artists from all over the world move to this place to work from here. In spring 2020 drastic changes arrived: Among other things, planned exhibitions and art fairs were cancelled or postponed, galleries and museums closed, and larger projects could not be realized. The nightlife in Berlin was also completely shut down. Out of this situation Boros and Berghain came together.

The main purpose of the exhibition project is to offer Berlin artists a public platform and to create a place for this very special dialogue. The exhibiting artists reflect a broad spectrum: from young and newly discovered positions on established and internationally working artists. The selection was also made through the network of participating artists, independent of the galleries they represent. The list of artists remains open over the period of the exhibition in order to continuously integrate new works.

The exhibition is supported by the Senate Department for Culture. ›Studio Berlin‹ was organized by the non-profit Boros Foundation, represented by Karen and Christian Boros and Juliet Kothe. The Boros Foundation supports contemporary art in Berlin and runs an exhibition space in the bunker in Berlin Mitte, which shows the Boros collection in changing exhibitions The Berghain is a techno club in the Berlin district of Friedrichshain. In addition to the club’s permanent collection, the works in the exhibition are shown on a 3500 square meter area.

Artists: Yero Adugna Eticha, Nevin Aladağ, Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili, Tamina Amadyar, Katja Aufleger, Khaled Barakeh, Sam Barker, Jagoda Bednarsky, Dirk Bell, Julius von Bismarck, Kévin Blinderman, John Bock, Monica Bonvicini, Leda Bourgogne, Armin Boehm, Marc Brandenburg, Jonas Brinker, AA Bronson, Angela Bulloch, Nina Canell, Julian Charrière, Zuzanna Czebatul, Mariechen Danz, Jesse Darling, Tacita Dean, Simon Denny, Thea Djordjadze, Aleksandra Domanović, Eliza Douglas, Hannah Sophie Dunkelberg, Sam Durant, Jimmie Durham Marte Eknæs, Jessica Ekomane, Olafur Eliasson Elmgreen & Dragset, Simon Fujiwara, Cyprien Gaillard, Isa Genzken, Lukas Glinkowski, Katharina Grosse, Stephanie Gudra, Petrit Halilaj & Alvaro Urbano, He Xiangyu, Stefanie Heinze, Leila Hekmat, Lothar Hempel, Calla Henkel & Max Pitegoff, Gregor Hildebrandt, Yngve Holen, Karl Holmqvist, Klára Hosnedlová, Nadira Husain, Anne Imhof, Iman Issa, Verena Issel, Sergej Jensen, Šejla Kamerić, Richard Kennedy, Cosima zu Knyphausen, Caroline Kryzecki, Tegene Kunbi, Alicja Kwade, Oliver Laric, Lindsay Lawson, Jeewi Lee, Klara Lidén, Keto Logua, Sven Marquardt, Jonathan Monk, Sandra Mujinga, Carsten Nicolai, Katja Novitskova, Henrik Olesen Aude Pariset, Max Paul, Peles Empire, Manfred Pernice Nathan Peter, Adrian Piper Bettina Pousttchi Josephine Pryde Puppies Puppies, Robin Rhode, Jimmy Robert, Willem de Rooij, Shirin Sabahi Cemile Sahin, Michael Sailstorfer, Thomas Scheibitz, Sarah Ancelle Schönfeld, Jeremy Shaw, Timur Si-Qin, Andreas Slominski, Tobias Spichtig, Marie Steinmann, Christine Sun Kim Wolfgang Tillmans Rirkrit Tiravanija, Rosemarie Trockel, Nasan Tur, Anna Uddenberg, Viron Erol Vert, Danh Vō, Raphaela Vogel, Peter Wächtler Andro Wekua, Peter Welz, Thomas Zipp